The ISCS Awards

The ISCS Awards

The International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors is the venue for presentation of three prestigious prizes. The awards to be made are:

The Welker Award was established in 1976 by Siemens AG in honor of Heinrich Welker, the pioneer in the field of III-V compound semiconductors. The award is now supported by Osram GmbH and given away for outstanding research in the area of III-V compound semiconductors. Click here to get the list of the recipients, which includes three Nobel Laureates.

The Quantum Devices Award was initiated by Fujitsu Quantum Devices Ltd. in 2000, and is now sponsored by the Japanese section of the ISCS steering committee. The Award honors pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices including physics and epitaxial growth. You can find the list of previous recipients of the Quantum Devices Award here.

The Young Scientist Award supported by the Symposium. Established in 1986, the Award acknowledges significant achievements in the field of compound semiconductors by a scientist younger than 40 years on the first day of the Symposium. The list of previous recipients is available here.

Nominations for the Awards

Deadline for nominations of the ISCS awards: March 18, 2019 (Japan time)
The award winners will be announced at the award ceremony on May 20th.

The recipients of all three Awards will be selected by the CSW Award Committee. Please submit nominations for the three awards to the Chair of the CSW Award Committee, Prof. Yasuhiko Arakawa, by March 18th, 2019.

Mail to Prof. Arakawa